不问因由

Quentin Derouet, 万琼

开幕酒会:2017年11月11日 下午5-8时

展期: 2017年11月12日 - 12月17日

周遭的世界常常扰乱我们的心神,向往之地莫过于在这曲径通幽的灵山妙水深处,寻找一 份属于内心的宁静与归属,在光影摇曳中窥探世界的斑驳,在举手投足间尝试解开千丝万 缕的牵扯与羁绊。

普遍认为,女性艺术家拥有细致入微的内心活动与完美细腻的表达方式。艺术家万琼的作 品充满灵性,瓷器不仅仅是装置,也是一种情绪的载体,营造出的视觉画面具有斑驳、错 落、复杂的视觉效果,将她内心的瞬息万变表现得时而含蓄,时而富有张力。大自然看似 没有边界,但却被无形的网牵扯着,万物都有着藕断丝连般的关联与内在联系,看似宁静 的竹节状物,却也散发着生生不息的顶天立地的力量,一切都是那么自然,甚至可触碰。

万琼通过所在环境的幻觉意象和观念理解,从自身的角度塑造了这个系列的“柱状物”。 不同于她早前的《斑竹》系列,本次展览中的装置作品,初看以为是竹,实际上是形似而 神非。古典式山水状物完全凭借写意式的抽象手法在现代感的器形中表现其特征,通过 “窑变”产生了新的美学价值,这或许只有用“花非花,雾非雾”来描绘才比较恰当。

传统陶瓷受制于烧制的窑体大小,作品体量有限,万琼的陶瓷装置作品采用单节烧制组成 的方式,打破了单体陶瓷作品制作高度限制。错落“生长”的白色陶瓷“柱状体”在略显 隐约的灯光晕染下,营造出一种炫目的超现实视觉感官体验,带我们步入一场异想世界的 玄妙,于悠然清淡的气息中默默潜静地引发一场自我的探寻。

火与土的陶瓷艺术中颇见匠心,或淡雅,或古朴,或灵动。从地面延伸到悬梁高处的丝网 如同梦境延伸一般。我们在展览的特定空间中,跟随作品的特定摆设与光影晕染的语境移 动,试图将作品与群体和个体之间的思考关联起来。陶瓷装置展示了艺术家对于画布以外 在新媒介上的多元视角取向和多维度的艺术探索过程,瓷绘艺术的“窑变”为瓷器注入了 神韵与艺术家的强烈个人色彩和细致入微的感情层次,因此作为媒介产生了无穷的曼妙物语。



Charlie Wang (艺术类独立撰稿人)

Without Why

Quentin Derouet, Wan Qiong

Opening Reception: Saturday, Nov. 11th, 2017, 17:00-20:00

Exhibition Dates: Nov. 12th - Dec. 17th, 2017

Our mind is always distracted by our surroundings and we find ourselves often longing for a hidden spot in the mountains at the end of a winding path. Once there we wish to find our inner peace, to become a bystander of this ever changing world, at the same time we look for a way to free ourselves from the countless obligations and duties tying us up on our daily lives.

In her work, Wan Qiong has put her soul into a meticulous and sensitive process. Her ceramic sculptures are not only the endeavor of her installation but also become a vessel for her emotions. The visual impact created by the lights and shadows cast over the shaped bamboo reflect her inner feelings, poised but full of tensions. The world seems to be borderless, however there are invisible connections between everything. These ceramic bamboo objects stand there quietly, with their indomitable spirits, natural and reachable.
Wan Qiong created this series of “bamboos” based on the visual illusions and concepts perceived in her surroundings. Different from her earlier series, when looking closely to these nine tall bamboo works, we notice the delicate glazed details randomly enveloping the surface of each piece like a lace. The characteristics of a classic bamboo has been transformed with a modern style freehand technique into a new aesthetics with the unpredictable changes of the glaze. Maybe there is no more appropriate description than the Chinese saying “Flowers are more than flowers, fog is not just fog”. The size of each ceramic work was restricted by the size of the kiln.
However Wan Qiong was able to get around this difficulty as she decided to shape her work into different segments, breaking the limitation of the height since each molded part is inter-dependant (inter-changeable??). The result is a series of white ceramic “columns” which seem to have sprouted randomly from the ground, offering an eerie sight under dim lights, taking the viewer into a fantasy world and the start of an inner journey. The craftsmanship can be easily seen in her ceramic work, elegant, simple yet ingenious. The silk hanging from the floor to the beam is an extension of her dreams. In the designated exhibition space, we follow the context of the artist, trying to figure out the links between groups and individual parts. This installation is also an exploration of multi-dimension art outside the canvas; the glazed details on the ceramic giving the work a distinctive personality and density reflecting the artist’s emotions.

Charlie Wang (Independent Art Journalist)