André CERVERA

André Cervera, 1962年出生于法国赛特港,现在工作生活于赛特港以及他旅行到达的各个地方。André Cervera在20世纪70年代的时候被绘画所吸引,更确切的说,是被绘画这一行为所吸引。在他哥哥,自由形象艺术运动的代表诗人Michel Zoom以及年长多岁的艺术家罗伯特·孔巴的影响和鼓励下, André Cervera走上了绘画的道路。1978年,他和这些前辈们一起出现在了由荷尔维·迪罗萨,凯蒂·布兰戴尔,罗伯特·孔巴以及火箭筒艺术小组成员共同创办的Bato杂志上。

接着他进入赛特港美术学院跟随玛茜女士学习。而在四年前,正是这位玛茜女士,将未来的自由形象艺术运动的制造者纳入麾下。

之后André Cervera和Aldo Biascamano一起进入马赛美术学院学习。在那里,他们被伊夫·克莱因这位不受约束的,善于掌控力量和光影的艺术家所创作的作品震惊了。很快,他们和Tino Cosentino一起创立了小组“Yaros”。三人将学校和课程抛之脑后,一头扎进了“全艺术”,一种原始部落式的使用双手在所有可以想到的媒介上创作以当下事件或反讽内容为题材的现场绘画实验。他们倡导通过愉快的模仿,诗意的沉迷将戏剧,实验性电影和疯狂的现场表演结合起来。他们拍摄了一步短片来倡导他们的宣言,内容可以概括成这样一句话“吃喝万岁!斗争万岁!美妙时光万岁!”他们重复各种行为,并在体内化学物质的影响下在短时间内撰写各种诗意的童话故事。

天下没有不散的宴席,Yaros小组在成立四年后走到了终点。同样的年轻气盛,即使与现在精湛的技艺相结合,也依然出现在André Cervera的作品中。与自由形象艺术运动的艺术家不同,André Cervera受奥斯卡·柯克西卡,詹姆斯·恩索尔和德国表现主义运动团体Die Brücke 的影响,风格上更为表现主义。但后来他的表达方式越来越“拉丁”,并且越来越被旅行的经历,以及万物有灵论所说的“原始性”所启发。

1994年André Cervera第一个目的地是塞内加尔的达喀尔。在那里他遇见了穆斯林宗教信仰。沉浸在这个神圣的土地上,他尽情享受并记录气味,色彩以及语言带来的一切。之后几幅作品于他的工作室诞生,其中一幅质疑基督教没落的作品《小村庄》,这也是他与万物有灵论的开始。

同年的八月,他受邀去往克罗地亚的帕克拉茨,早期塞尔维亚与克罗地亚相争之地。他为当地市美术馆创作了大幅三联画:“昨天 / 今天 / 明天”。 1995年,受到墨西哥梦幻之旅的启发André Cervera完成了一系列黑白作品,并第一次使用了拼贴技术和牛皮纸材质。他将此称为一场瞬间即逝的旅行,而灵感正是来源于一种冷酷的驱邪仪式。

之后的一年,他应邀参加了摩洛哥得土安的艺术驻地计划。在那里他为朗格多克地区完成了动物图腾的绘画。

2001年,马里的收藏家朋友邀请André Cervera去马里的多贡。Jean Rouch和Marcel Griaule的电影一直以来都让他对那里的故事和万物有灵论产生了浓厚的兴趣。借此机会,他体验了萨满文化。André Cervera和一名布尔吉纳艺术家用当地的材料和色彩共同创作。同之后两次在印度的旅行一样,André Cervera尤其擅长于用自己的方式重新解读那些故事、神话以及符号。

2003年及2004年,他从本地治里游历到加尔各答,在金奈、瓦拉纳西以及孟买流连忘返。面对印度大量丰富的颜色和形状,他将之与黑白的表现风格作对比,用更丰富和精炼的手法创作。他的目光是西方的,但是旅程中的符号和传说都给予了他源源不断的灵感。多贡面具,象头神,湿婆等都成了他日常生活直接的表达。

自2006年开始André Cervera多次被邀请去上海和北京。在此期间他强化了他的创作风格,他使用特殊的纸质,尝试减少色彩的运用,而在技术上运用了砂浆,透明涂色以及拼贴,将他的想象可以完美呈现在作品中。

在过去的二十多年来,André Cervera用他独特的“拉丁表现主义”风格向世人展现了自己的才华。他的艺术经历是生动且粗暴的:过度绘画最终是为了绘画过度。他作品中的世界是不成比例的,没有观念束缚的。他通过情感和现实进行创作。如今,这个来自于塞特港的艺术家已经如同其他自由形象艺术运动的艺术家一样闻名于国际。

(以上内容摘自Philippe Saulle撰写的艺术家介绍)

André CERVERA

Born in 1962 in Sète, France. Working and living in Sète, and wherever his travels take him... André Cervera, in the 1970s, was already fascinated by painting and, moreover, by the act of painting itself. The ascent of his older brother, Michel Zoom, “the poet of Figuration Libre”, and with the encouragement of Robert Combas, he took his first steps in the world of painting. By 1978, he appeared alongside his mentors in the magazine “Bato”, founded by Hervé di Rosa, Katty Brindel and Combas.

He took a course at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Sète, under the tutelage of a certain Madame Mancié who, four years earlier, had taken the troublemakers of the future “Figuration Libre” under her wing.

Cervera then entered the Ecole des Beaux Arts de Marseille alongside Aldo Biascamano. There, the two - are shocked by the works of Yves Klein, absolute artist, master of pure energy and luminous Shaman. With Tino Cosentino, Cervera and Biascamano, they found the group “Yaros” and threw themselves headlong into experiments of “total art” - a quasi-tribal art form of live paintings done with six hands on every imaginable support, happenings and comical provocations. They shot a short film announcing their manifesto, in essence, “a life of food, drink, fights and good times!” - multiplying their actions, writing short poetic fairy tales whilst under the influence of various chemical substances.

The fast life took its toll, and the adventures of Yaros soon came to an end four years later. The same fury, albeit mastered with virtuosity today, is ever present in André Cervera's paintings, the playlets, the theater and the poetic huis-clos. Contrary to the artists of Figuration Libre, Cervera's style is highly expressionistic under the influence of Kokochka, Ensor, and the German movement group Die Brücke. It also became increasingly “Latin” in tone, inspired by travels and the so-called “primitives”.

His first destination, in 1994, was Dakar, Senegal. He encounters, a community of deep in the Muslim faith. Immersing himself in the holy city, he takes in the smells, the colors, the words, several paintings came out of his studio later, named “The Small Village”, which questioned the decay of Christianity. His encounter with animism would come later...

In the same year, he was invited to Pacrac, Croatia. Memories of the Serbo-Croatian conflict still hung heavily in the air. There he offered the local museum a triptych titled: “Yesterday/Today/Tomorrow”. In 1995, Cervera completed a series of black and white paintings inspired by an imaginary trip to Mexico, introducing collage and kraft paper to his work for the very first time. He spoke of a “journey merely flushed by”, inspired by the grim reaper, a form of exorcism without any doubt.

The following year he was invited to join a residency program in Tétouan, Morocco. There he was inspired to do a series of totemic animal paintings.

In 2001, invited by a collector friend to Mali, he took off for the land of the Dogons. His fascination with story-telling and animism, was nourished by the films of Jean Rouch and Marcel Griaule. In the shade of the country's red cliffs, Cervera experienced Shaman-like rituals. He painted alongside a Burkina artist, using local earth, batik and colors: red, ocher, black, blue. Above all, Cervera was gifted in interpreting symbolic codes, mythologies and stories.

In 2003 and 2004, he travelled from Pondicherry to Calcutta, losing himself in this fascinating country. Faced with the profusion and opulent shapes and colors of India, he contrasted this with a form of intimate minimalism in black and white. Freeing himself from an overly-refined style of drawing, and keeping his vision western, he began integrating elements of legends and tales picked up during his travels: African masks, Ganesha and Shiva translating the magic of everyday life.

Since 2006 Cervera was invited several times to China. He developed a more forceful style, improving his distinctive range of colors through stamping and dripping techniques, restraining his palette, adding coating, glazing and transparency to his collages, integrating the use of rare
paper and refining his choice of motifs. His voracious imagination was fulfilled.

Cervera has over the past twenty years developed a unique style of “Latin expressionism” fueled by an urgency to paint. His artistic process has been a vital ritual and an obsession; to paint excessively, after all, is to paint the excessive. His vision of the world is of disproportionate realities - there is no sophistication in André Cervera's discourse. His works are guided by emotion and truth. Thus, for this local-born artist of working-class origins his works have gained rightful recognition in the world today.

(An excerpt translated from the original text by Philippe Saulle)